STATE OF RHODE ISLAND EXECUTIVE OFFICE OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

9/30/2019 PUBLIC NOTICE OF PROPOSED AMENDMENT TO RHODE ISLAND MEDICAID STATE PLAN

In accordance Rhode Island General Laws 42-35, notice is hereby given that the Executive Office of Health and Human Services (EOHHS) proposes to make the following amendment to the Rhode Island State Plan under Title XIX of the Social Security Act:

Hospice Services

EOHHS is seeking federal authority to increase the base rates for certain hospice services to align with the minimum rates set by CMS. The proposed rate increases are listed below:

- 1. Continuous Home Care Per Hour \$58.17
- 2. Inpatient Respite Per Day \$473.79
- 3. General Inpatient Care \$1,021.25

This change would result in an increase in annual expenditures of approximately \$ 16,889.50 all funds. The proposed effective date of this amendment is October 1, 2019.

This proposed amendment is accessible on the EOHHS website (www.eohhs.ri.gov) or available in hard copy upon request (401-462-6348 or RI Relay, dial 711). Interested persons should submit data, views, or written comments by October 30, 2019 to Gretchen Bell, Executive Office of Health and Human Services, 3 West Rd, Cranston, RI, 02920, or Gretchen.Bell@ohhs.ri.gov.

In accordance with the Rhode Island General Laws 42-35-3, an oral hearing will be granted on the proposed State Plan Amendment if requested by twenty-five (25) persons, an agency, or by an association having at least twenty-five (25) members. A request for an oral hearing must be made within thirty (30) days of this notice.

The Executive Office of Health and Human Services does not discriminate against individuals based on race, color, national origin, sex, gender identity or expression, sexual orientation, religious belief, political belief, or handicap in acceptance for or provision of services or employment in its programs or activities.

Items on the basis of the current prevailing rate at which the item is generally available to the public in the State of Rhode Island.

- (4) Eyeglasses prescribed by a physician skilled in diseases of the eye or by an optometrist, except as otherwise noted in the State Plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers of eyeglasses. The agency's fee schedule rate was set as of April 1993 for frames and March 2009 for lenses and is effective for services provided on or after those dates. All rates are published at http://www.eohhs.ri.gov/Portals/0/Uploads/Documents/Fee%20Schedules/Medicaid%20Fee%20Schedule.pdf
- m. Nurse midwife services: except as otherwise noted in the State Plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers of nurse mid-wife services. The agency's fee schedule rate was set as of 2000 and is effective for services provided on or after that date. All rates are published at http://www.eohhs.ri.gov/Portals/0/Uploads/Documents/Fee%20Schedules/Medicaid%20Fee%20Schedule.pdf
 - n. Hospice services: the minimum Medicaid Hospice rates are set prospectively by CMS based on the methodology used in setting Medicare Hospice rates, which are adjusted to disregard the cost offset attributable to Medicare coinsurance amounts. EOHHS will ensure that the Medicaid Hospice rates do not fall below the minimum rate set by CMS. Effective July 1, 2019, the rate for Hospice providers for room and board expenses in a skilled nursing facility shall be ninety-five percent (95%) of the state plan skilled nursing facility rate. The hospice provider is responsible for passing the room and board payment through to the nursing facility.

Reimbursement for Hospice care will be made at predetermined rates for each day in which a beneficiary is under the care of the Hospice. The daily rate is applicable to the type and intensity of services furnished to the beneficiary for that day. With the exception of payment for physician services, the base rates for Hospice services, effective October 1, 2019, are as follows:

• Routine Home Care Days 1-60: \$239.05 per day

• Routine Home Care Days 60+: \$187.75 per day

Continuous Home Care: \$58.17 per hour
Inpatient Respite Care: \$473.79 per day
General Inpatient Care: \$1,021.25 per day

Effective July 1, 2021, and each July 1 thereafter, the base rates will be increased by the New England Consumer Price Index card, released in May, as determined by the United States Department of Labor for medical care. Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedules and rates are the same for both governmental and private providers.

Service Intensity Add-On (SIA)-Payments will be made for a visit by a social worker or a registered nurse (RN), when provided during routine home care provided in the last 7 days of a Medicaid member's life. The SIA payment is in addition to the routine home care rate. The SIA Medicaid reimbursement will be equal to the Continuous Home Care hourly payment rate, multiplied by the amount of direct patient care hours provided by an RN or social worker for up to four (4) hours total that occurred on the day of service.

TN#19-014	Approved:	Effective: 10/1/2019
114# <u>13-014</u>	Approved	LITECTIVE. <u>10/1/2015</u>

Supersedes TN: 19-009

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

For each hospice, the total number of inpatient days (both for general inpatient care and inpatient respite care) must not exceed 20 percent of the aggregate total number of days of hospice care provided to all Medicaid members enrolled in the hospice during the same period, beginning with services rendered October 1 or each year and ending September 30 of the next year.

- p. Home and community-based services: except as otherwise noted in the State Plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers of home and community-based services. The agency's fee schedule rate was set as of July 1, 2018 and is effective for services provided on or after that date. All rates are published at http://www.eohhs.ri.gov/ProvidersPartners/ProviderManualsGuidelines/MedicaidProviderManual/HomeandCommunityBasedServices.aspx
- q. Rehabilitative services: except as otherwise noted in the State Plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers of rehabilitative services. The agency's fee schedule rate was set as of February 2012 and is effective for services provided on or after that date. All rates are published at http://www.eohhs.ri.gov/Portals/0/Uploads/Documents/Fee%20Schedules/Medicaid%20Fee%20Schedule.
- r. Case management services: except as otherwise noted in the State Plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers of case management services. The agency's fee schedule rate was set under the specific program that case management operates in a specific instance and is effective for services provided on or after those dates. All rates are published at
 - $\underline{http://www.eohhs.ri.gov/Portals/0/Uploads/Documents/Fee\%20Schedules/Medicaid\%20Fee\%20Schedule.pdf.}$