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State: Rhode Island 

 

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND 
EXECUTIVE OFFICE OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 

 
6/27/23 PUBLIC NOTICE OF PROPOSED AMENDMENT TO RHODE ISLAND MEDICAID 

STATE PLAN  
 

In accordance Rhode Island General Laws 42-35, notice is hereby given that the Executive Office of 
Health and Human Services (EOHHS) proposes to make the following amendment to the Rhode Island 
State Plan under Title XIX of the Social Security Act: 
 

Personal Needs Allowance Increase 
 
EOHHS is seeking approval from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) to update 
Rhode Island’s Medicaid State Plan to increase the Personal Needs Allowance for individuals receiving 
care in institutional settings from $50 per month to $75 per month, in accordance with the FY2024 
Enacted Budget.   

This change is proposed to take effect on July 1, 2023, and is expected to result in an increase in 
expenditures of $1.3 million in SFY24 and $1.3 million in SFY25 (All Funds). 

This proposed amendment is accessible on the EOHHS website (www.eohhs.ri.gov) or available in hard 
copy upon request (401-462-2407 or RI Relay, dial 711). Interested persons should submit data, views, or 
written comments by July 27, 2023 to Brittany Church, Executive Office of Health and Human Services, 
3 West Rd, Cranston, RI, 02920, or Brittany.Church@ohhs.ri.gov or via phone at (401) 462-2407. 

In accordance with the Rhode Island General Laws 42-35-2.8, an oral hearing will be granted on the 
proposed State Plan Amendment if requested by twenty-five (25) persons, an agency, or by an association 
having at least twenty-five (25) members.  A request for an oral hearing must be made within ten (10) 
days of this notice. 

The Executive Office of Health and Human Services does not discriminate against individuals based on 
race, color, national origin, sex, gender identity or expression, sexual orientation, religious belief, political 
belief, or handicap in acceptance for or provision of services or employment in its programs or activities. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Original signed by Kristin Pono Sousa, Medicaid Director, Rhode Island Executive Office of Health 
and Human Services Signed this 26th day of June, 2023 
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TN. No. 23‐00xx 
Supersedes  Approval Date: _______________  Effective Date: 7/1/2023 
TN. No. 99‐005 

 

Citation  Condition or Requirement 

 
1924 of the Act 
435.725 
435.733 
435.832 

 
2. The following monthly amounts for personal needs are deducted from 

total monthly income in the application of an institutionalized 
individual’s or couple’s income to the cost of institutionalized care: 
 
Personal Needs Allowance (PNA) of not less than $30 for Individuals and 
$60 for Couples For all Institutionalized Persons.  
 
a. Aged, blind, disabled: 

 
Individuals   $5075.00 
Couples        $100150.00 
 
For the following persons with greater need: 

 
Supplement 12 to Attachment 2.6‐A describes the greater 
need; describes the basis or formula for determining the 
deductible amount when a specific amount is not listed 
above; lists the criteria to be met; and, where appropriate, 
identifies the organizational unit which determines that a 
criterion is met.  

 
b. AFDC related: 

 
Children    $5075.00 
Adults        $5075.00 
 
For the following persons with greater need:  
 
Supplement 12 to Attachment 2.6‐A describes the greater 
need; describes the basis or formula for determining the 
deductible amount when a specific amount is not listed 
above; lists the criteria to be met; and, where appropriate, 
identifies the organizational unit which determines that a 
criterion is met.  

 
c. Individuals under age 21 covered in the plan as specified in Item 

B.7. of Attachment 2.2‐A 
 

$5075.00 
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TN No. 23‐00xx 
Supersedes  Approval Date: ______________  Effective Date: 7/1/2023 
TN No. 01‐09 

 
VARIATIONS FROM THE BASIC PERSONAL NEEDS ALLOWANCE  

 
For institutionalized persons who engage in employment from which earned income is derived and for 
whom the retention of such income is therapeutic, $5075 is protected for personal needs and an 
additional $85 plus one half the remainder a month, not to exceed the optional State Supplementary 
Payment level, of needs resulting from the work activity may be retained.  
 
Certain institutionalized individuals have higher than normal personal needs which result from the need 
to pay for the services of a guardian, an attorney, or court‐ordered fees and costs. An increased Personal 
Needs deduction is allowed to those institutionalized individuals who must incur certain legal and 
guardianship/conservatorship expenses in order to make income or resources available for their 
support, and to those institutionalized individuals who require a court‐appointed guardian in order to 
consent to or access necessary medical treatment.  
 
(1)  Guardianship/Conservatorship Costs 
 

Individuals who have court‐appointed guardians or conservators are allowed to retain income in 
the form of an additional Personal Needs deduction to pay for certain court‐approved 
guardian/conservator’s fees or court‐ordered fees relating to guardianship/conservatorship. 
Such fees include but are not limited to court filing fees, the cost of a Probate Bond, court‐
approved guardianship/conservatorship fees, and court approved legal fees.   

 
To be considered, the expense must be required for the individual to make income or resources 
available, or in the case of an incompetent individual who needs a court‐appointed guardian, 
required to access or consent to necessary medical treatment (including applying for Medicaid). 
The Department may consider as deductions reasonable court approved expenses (not covered 
by other sources) for items listed above. When guardianship fees have been approved by the 
Probate Court, related guardian‐ad‐litem fees not exceeding $250 may also be considered.  

 
The total amount allowed as an additional personal needs deduction shall be based on the hours 
approved by the particular Probate Court for items as provided above at the rate of 
compensation paid for guardians ad litem in Family court as specified in the then‐current Rhode 
Island Supreme Court Executive Order on fee schedules. Monthly deductions of up to $125 may 
be allowed for guardianship expenses. An additional monthly deduction of up to $125 may also 
be allowed for related legal fees. A deduction of up to $250 may be recognized for allowable 
expenses related to a guardian‐ad‐litem during the month in which the individual pays the 
expense.    



 

TN. No. 23‐00xx 
Supersedes  Approval Date: _______________  Effective Date: 7/1/2023 
TN. No. 99‐005 

Optional State Supplement Beneficiaries 

Payment Category  Administered By  Income Level  Income Disregards 
Employed 

(Reasonable 
Classification) 

Federal  State  Gross  Net   

One Person  Couple  One Person  Couple 

Institutionalized 
Individual (ABD) 

             

A) * 
Would receive 
payment if in 
community 

   
X 

 
$1,608.61 

 
N/A 

 
$953.92 

 
N/A 

 
SSI 

B) 
Would not receive 
payment in 
community 

   
X 

 
$2,742.00 

 
N/A 

 
*$5075.00 

 
N/A 

 
SSI 

C) 
Receives payment 

  X  Under 
$5075.00 

N/A  *$5075.00  N/A  SSI 

               

Community ABD               

A) 
Living independently 
(includes domiciliary 
facilities) 

   
 
X 

 
 

$1,608.61 

 
 

$2,411.40 

 
 

$953.92 

 
 

$1,450.38 

 
 

SSI 

B)  
Living in home of 
another 

   
X 

 
$1,152.55 

 
$1,726.45 

 
$661.26 

 
$1,011.30 

 
SSI 

C) 
Residential Care and 
Assisted Living 

 
X 

   
$2,742.00 

 
 

 
$1,246.00 

 
N/A 

 
SSI 

*Individual with no dependents receives $5075 for personal needs plus insurance premium for Part B.  Remaining income is applied to cost of care.  When an 

individual with no income receives a $30 payment from SSI, the State supplements an additional $2045 to bring his/her personal needs allowance up to $5075. 

 

 


